The Race To The Oscars Heats Up With Two Films Tying For Best Picture At The Producers Guild Of America Awards

Photo courtesy of the Producers Guild of America

Photo courtesy of the Producers Guild of America

Sarah Goddard
Content Editor

The race towards the Oscars certainly became a lot more interesting today (January 19) when in an unprecedented turn of events, the recipient of the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures (Best Picture for the layman among us) was not one, but two films, when 12 Years a Slave and Gravity shared the award.

For the first time in the Producers Guild of America (PGA) Awards 25 year history, the voting results ended in a dead heat, while highly anticipated victor American Hustle, went home empty handed.

Long considered a reliable predictor of Oscar glory, the PGA Award feature film winner has gone on to take home the statue for Best Picture at the Academy Awards 17 times in the 25 year history of the awards, including the previous six consecutive years.

For the full list of awards handed out at the 15th Annual Producers Guild of America Awards, see below.

Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of a Theatrical Motion Picture:
12 Years a SlaveProducers:  Anthony Katagas, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen, Brad Pitt & Dede Gardner
tied with
Gravity Producers: Alfonso Cuarón, David Heyman

Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Picture:
FrozenProducer: Peter Del Vecho

Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Picture:
We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks – Producers: Alexis Bloom, Alex Gibney, Marc Shmuger

Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television:
Behind the Candelabra – Producers: Susan Ekins, Gregory Jacobs, Michael Polaire, Jerry Weintraub

Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama:
Breaking Bad – Producers: Melissa Bernstein, Sam Catlin, Bryan Cranston, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Mark Johnson, Stewart Lyons, Michelle MacLaren, George Mastras, Diane Mercer, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett

Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy:
Modern Family – Producers: Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Ben Karlin, Elaine Ko, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Jeffrey Morton, Dan O’Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Chris Smirnoff, Brad Walsh, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:
Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown – Producers: Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia, Sandra Zweig

Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:
The Colbert Report – Producers: Meredith Bennett, Stephen T. Colbert, Richard Dahm, Paul Dinello, Barry Julien, Matt Lappin, Emily Lazar, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart

Outstanding Producer of Competition Television:
The Voice Producers: Stijn Bakkers, Mark Burnett, John de Mol, Chad Hines, Lee Metzger, Audrey Morrissey, Jim Roush, Kyra Thompson, Nicolle Yaron, Mike Yurchuk, Amanda Zucker

Outstanding Sports Program:

Outstanding Children’s Program:
Sesame Street

Outstanding Digital Series:
Wired: What’s Inside

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s