Dame Helen Mirren To Be Awarded The BAFTA Fellowship At This Years Ceremony

Photo courtesy of Hello Magazine

Photo courtesy of Hello Magazine

Jenna Boures
Staff Writer

Dame Helen Mirren will receive the BAFTA Fellowship for her contributions to film. The Fellowship is the Academy’s highest honor. Previous winners include Charlie Chaplin, Steven Spielberg, and Judi Dench.

BAFTA chairman John Willis said, “Dame Helen Mirren receives the Fellowship as one of the most outstanding actresses of her generation,” and that her career is a “testament to the determination, dedication and skill she brings to each of her roles.”

Mirren was honored by the news of her award. “This is the greatest professional honor I can imagine, certainly one I never dreamt of as a schoolgirl in Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex. To join that list of legendary names is overwhelming.”

The renowned actress will receive the award at the annual ceremony which is being held at London’s Royal Opera House on February 16th.

Mirren has previously won four BAFTA awards and has been nominated a further seven times.

Keep Up With PopWrapped On The Web!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s